The Lewis Model

The Lewis Model is the theory to compare the difference of cultural behavior between countries. So, I will compare Finland and Japan using this.

The Lewis Model is developed in the 1990s and articulated in Richard Lewis’s blockbuster, When Cultures Collide (1996). This theory divided into 3 group based on behavior. According to this theory, Finland belongs to “linear-active” group and Japan belongs to “reactive” group. So, I will compare Finland with Japan using this theory.

Feature of “linear-active” group including Finland is to talk half of time while that of “reactive” group including Japan is to listen most of time. I feel this feature when we discuss during the class. Finnish people are very active during the class. They show their opinion and even critize other’s opinion. In Japan, it does not happen because Japanese people tend to listen other’s opinion and confront others. But in Finland, people interrupt others sometimes and advise in polite but direct way during the class or discussion. I was disappointed when I was adviced from a Finnish student during my presentation because I have not experienced in Japan. I think it is a cultural difference between Finnish and Japanese.

Also, this is the feature of “linear-active” group that Finnish people tend to separate the social and the professional. I was surprised with that teachers say “you don’t have to put “Mr.” or “Ms.” before the first name when you contact me”. It is unbelievable for me because if I call my professor like that in Japan, my professor and people around me will be angry. So, I am still calling my professor his or her first name with putting “Mr.” or “Ms.” before the name. But I think it is the aspect of separating the social and the professional.

I thought Finnish and Japanese are resemble from the perspective of behavior, but using the theory, I found out Finnish and Japanese has different personality. It is difficult to adapt totally to Finnish behavior. But I think I am affected Finnish culture by interacting with Finnish people. So I think my behavior is changed slightly from typical Japanese behavior.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started