Style of studying

Cultural shock in style of study in Finland

I’m shocked to the style of studying in Finland. So, I have hard time to get used to the style. But, I would like to get used to that and apply in my home university.

Style of studying in Japanese university

textbooks I used in my home university

It’s quiet common to use textbook for classes in Japanese university. So, we have to buy the textbooks which is expensive for students sometimes. Also, we just listen to professors speeches in the classes, and take tests to get credits for graduation. Sometimes we need to study hard for tests, but not so many tests are demanded much efforts.(I’ve heard some students used smartphone to play games or check their SNS during whole of the classes, but they could pass the test and get the credit. In other words, it was super easy class for students.) Moreover, we don’t discuss with others in the class. So, I appriciated for that kind of style because I’m bad at communicating others.

Style of studying in TUAS

It’s totally different from Japanese ones I’m get used to. We are required communication skills more than skills for understanding what teachers speak which is important in Japanese university. Also, we should do projects proactively. In my home university, professor gives assignment or tell me what I should do. So, it’s hard for me to find tasks and do projects by myself. But, I believe it will improve my skills for studying effectively, so I will do my best.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started